Collision All-Star Basketball

Collision All Stars

Collision All Stars

Chaminade’s Higgins leads SS girls squad
D-1 Recruits dominate SS boys roster

Chaminade's Valerie Higgins, the USC bound Southern Section Girls Open Division Player of the Year, and 10 collegiate Division I signees will dominate the girls and boys squads at the 18th annual Collision All Star games on Saturday April 30 at Inglewood High School.

Higgins led Chiminade to the girls CIF Southern Section Open Division, Southern California Regional and California championships this season.

The Jordan Brand All Star selection will be joined on the team by her McDonald’s All American teammate Leaonna Odom, who will be attending Duke University this fall.

The Southern Section girls will be pitted against the City Section girls all star team in the first game of the double header at 4p.m.

Kobe Paras (Cathedral) / UCLA, Dikymbe Martin (JW North) / UC Riverside / CIFSS Player of the Year Div 1AA, Jacob Davison (Cantwell) / Eastern Washington, Jordan Griffin (Corona Centennial) / Long Beach State / 1st Team All CIFSS Open Div., Evan Leonard (Cerritos) / UC Irvine / 1st Team All CIFSS Div 2A, Dwight Ramos (Walnut) / Cal State Fullerton / 1st Team All CIFSS Div 2A, Daron Henson (Cathedral) / Utah State, Brad Greene (Lone Pine) / UC Irvine / 1st Team All CIFSS Div 6, Trevor Stanback (Maranatha) / Stanford / 1st Team All CIFSS Div 4A, and Hawaii bound Leland Green of Redondo Union will highlight the boys Southern Section team.

Roman Silva (Diamond Ranch) / Has offers / CIFSS Player of the Year Div 3A, Lucas Siewert (Cathedral) / TBD / 1st Team All CIFSS Div 3AA and Terrell Gomez (Inglewood) will also be participating. Milan Acquaah (Cathedral) / Washington State was named to the name, but cannot play because of a season ending injury.

The Southern Section boys lead the series 9-8 and will be facing a decorated City Section all star team that features Narbonne’s Damaria Jones and Jamal Hicks ( All Open Division), Dorsey’s Coliseum Player of the Year Lafayette Dorsey, Fairfaix Babacar Thiombane ( All Open Division), El Camino’s Brandon Russell, Washington’s Jalen Chatham and Matthew Mondesir, Open Division champion Westchester’s L’Kielynn Taylor and Evan Council, Fairfax Antoine Monroe, Fremont’s Marqueece McKinzey and the top scorer in the City Section Joel Finney of D-5 Central City who averaged 31 points per game. The boys game will tip at 6p.m.

Former UCLA coaches Jim Harrick and Steve Lavin are also scheduled to attend. Harrick, for whom the Collision Lifetime Achievement Award is named, will present the honor to Schea Cotton, of the Schea Cotton Basketball Academy.

Lavin, who last coached at St. Johns, will present the Collision Albert ‘Cap’ Lavin Scholar Athlete Awards, named in honor of his late father.

Ticket for the event will be available at the door for $10 for adults and $5 for children.